Archives of the Secretaries-General

Under Article 97 of the Charter of the United Nations, the Secretary-General is appointed as the Organization's chief administrative officer by the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the Security Council.

The current Secretary-General, as of 1 January 2017, is Mr. António Guterres (Portugal). His predecessors are: Ban Ki-moon (Korea) who served from January 2007 to December 2016; Kofi Annan (Ghana) who held office from January 1997 to December 2006; Boutros Boutros-Ghali (Egypt), who held office from January 1992 to December 1996; Javier Pèrez de Cuèllar (Peru), who served from January 1982 to December 1991; Kurt Waldheim (Austria), who held office from January 1972 to December 1981; U Thant (Burma, now Myanmar), who served from November 1961, when he was appointed acting Secretary-General (he was formally appointed Secretary-General in November 1962) to December 1971; Dag Hammarskjöld (Sweden), who served from April 1953 until his death in a plane crash in September 1961; and Trygve Lie (Norway), who held office from February 1946 to his resignation in November 1952.

Archives of all former Secretaries-General are available for consultation.

Secretary-General Dates Finding Aid
Ban Ki-Moon (South Korea) 2007-2016 AG-069
Kofi A. Annan (Ghana) 1997-2006 AG-029
Boutros Boutros-Ghali (Egypt) 1992-1996 AG-028
Javier Pérez de Cuéllar (Peru) 1982-1991 AG-019
Kurt Waldheim (Austria) 1972-1981 AG-006
U Thant (Myanmar) 1961-1971 AG-005
Dag Hammarskjöld (Sweden) 1953-1961 AG-001
Trygve Lie (Norway) 1946-1952 AG-013